My letter to Hot 97 this morning in the aftermath of the verdict in the George Zimmerman case

More like email but I tuned in to their show Street Soldiers this morning because a comrade was going to be a special guest on the show. When I called in bringing in the accountability of Hot 97 I was cut off told that was a question for the program director (who I know) and that if there was more positive music out there Hot 97 would play it because they have their “ears to the street” ……………yeah, that’s what I said. Check it….

Peace, I just wanted to finish my comment I made on the show this morning about the role and responsibility media like Hot 97 plays in things like the George Zimmerman case. Before I could finish my train of thought I was cut off and told my question was for the program director who was not there so you could give your shout outs. An individual earlier in the show said the youth are not involved enough in the politcal process so my question was would going in the future instead of continuing to promote the artists that brag about rape (Rick Ross song came on after the show was over) and playing ads that say Jay Z’s new album is revolutionary, will Hot 97 in the future AT LEAST play the MANY songs like the Trayvon tributes artists like Public Enemy and Jasiri X have or just songs by artists that politicize minds of the youth instead of the songs that perpetuate or influence George Zimmerman mindstates so that when a jury sees a pic of a young black man with his shirt off they don’t assume he’s some imposing thug. Calling Jay Z revolutionary confuses the youth as to what revolutionary really means, THAT is part of the problem. I don’t know any fans that listen to Jay Z because of how he sparks their minds to want to be activists in their own communities.Everyone needs to look in the mirror and see what part they play in all this. As a host of my own independent hip hop media show I refuse to play any music or artists that promote a culture of black death misogyny and disrespect because we are greater than that, the youth won’t know that if they are not shown that. You said if there was more music like what I speak of it would get played because “your (Hot 97) ear is always in tune with the streets” but your ear is not really to the street because we are in an era where there has never been more progressive artists in hip hop speaking out against the ills in our society and truth to power. If no one at Hot 97 knows this you may want to get some new people working up there because the streets are mad right now and I doubt any music you have played since the verdict mirrors that

PEACE

2 thoughts on “My letter to Hot 97 this morning in the aftermath of the verdict in the George Zimmerman case

  1. Peace,
    Well stated… I remember there was a time when so-called inappropriate music was played late late late during the night… seems like there is a full court press on destroying the minds of our babies based on the cerebral garbage they are exposed to on a daily basis. Parenting in the 21st century requires constant dialogue and calling the wicked out. Sad state to be in but there is hope if everyone does their part…s

Leave a comment